Posted by: maisiegrace | January 2, 2009

What’s on?

Hello again and a Happy New Year to all. I was far too involved with my own stuff at the end of last year to even think about blogging. I admire all the prolific bloggers who managed to carry on churning it out!

I also found myself being quite out of touch with what’s going on. I’ve found it takes some serious effort to discover what’s happening in Thanet in terms of entertainment, arts, music, and interesting things in general. The Isle mag is great but published too far ahead to be complete. I suppose we have the local papers and other publications like the WWW leaflet but I know a lot of events and cool things don’t appear, especially if they’re not highly commercial. TDC have listings but they’re a bit patchy too. Incidentally, I wonder what happened to the Thanet Leisure blog? I’ve also seen AdVenture, Margate Handbook and various free ad things for goods and services but they’re hardly inspiring. 

It’s all a bit disjointed. Is it because Margate, Ramsgate and Broadstairs are too busy competing with each other rather than pulling together? In Oxford there’s a fantastic flyer called Daily Info (also online www.dailyinfo.co.uk). It’s obviously current, and targets a reasonably intelligent readership despite being cheap and cheerful. Daily Info has always been centred around students which is hardly the Thanet demographic, but I wonder whether something similar could succeed here? There certainly seems to be a need, and I’d like think there are enough interested/interesting people in Thanet to make it work. Not being a media mogul, though, I may be dreaming again.

Responses

  1. Speaking as a Ramsgatonian, it’s very hard for me to ‘pull together’ with the rest of the island when TDC seem hell bent on concentrating all the cultural funding on Margate, leaving my town as a landing strip for Chas ‘n’ Dave International Airport and not much else.

    Ramsgate clearly has much more to offer than Margate in terms of architectural and natural beauty, yet it is being systematically eroded by the policies emanating from Cecil Square.

    Re your other point (and speaking as a media mogul) I’m not sure a Thanet Daily Info would gain much traction, for the reasons you stated. But you’re right, shindigs around here do seem to be woefully and inadequately publicised. A banner on some railings a couple of days before the event seems to be regarded as the height of Saatchi and Saatchi style sophistication!

  2. Sounds like a gap in the market to me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

